An open industry association

leading the rapid adoption of safe DC power distribution in commercial buildings through the development of EMerge Alliance standards.

Board and Officers
Founding Governing Members also serve as Board Members and are adding significant resources to growing and establishing the EMerge Alliance.
Board Members
Brian T. Patterson President and Board Member

Brian T. Patterson is President and a founder of the EMerge Alliance. He is a 30 plus year veteran of the electrical and electronics industry, has an extensive technical and work history in electronics, fiber optics and building electrical systems technologies and holds multiple patents in those fields. He is currently Managing Director of B. L. Coliker Associates, a market and technology consulting firm. Prior positions include General Manger at Armstrong World Industries, Director of AMP Incorporated’s Fiber Optic Business, and President of an Electronic Interconnect Division of Kollmorgen Corporation.

Paul Savage Board Member
Nextek Power Systems

Paul Savage, CEO was an outside Director prior to joining Nextek December 2002. A graduate from Haverford College, his background includes Bond Trading at CS First Boston and risk management at Lehman Brothers before joining start-up operations of Caterpillar's dealership in Vietnam, V-TRAC. Based in Hanoi, Paul filled two roles as the Director of Customer Finance and Director of Marketing. He grew this green-field start-up to 87 employees, five offices and $22 million in sales in two years. This business was primarily back-up power systems from 20 kW to 2 MW. He is a founding member of the Emerge Alliance Corporation, a consortium aimed at promoting direct current (DC) power standards for buildings.

Paul is a member of the Board of Directors of Winrock International, a nonprofit organization that works with people in the United States and around the world to empower the disadvantaged, increase economic opportunity, and sustain natural resources. He is also a member of the Clinton Global Initiative, the largest individual investor in Nextek, and the organizer and coach for the team that operates the Company today.

Terry Hill Board Member

Terry currently serves on the Passive House US Board of Directors in a similar capacity and has been active as a member of the High Performance Building Congressional Caucus Coalition (HPBCCC). He is a PHIUS CPHC® (Certified Passive House Consultant) and has been instrumental in helping to forge relationships between PHIUS and the U.S. Department of Energy, Department of Housing and Urban Development, the Environmental Protection Agency, the Environmental and Energy Study Initiative (EESI) and National Institute of Building Sciences.

Dustin Hostetter Board Member
Armstrong World Industries

Dustin serves as the Manager of Business Development Operations at WAVE, a Worthington Armstrong Joint Venture. In this role, he acts as the Product Manager for Armstrong’s DC FlexZone ceiling grid where he oversees the marketing and sales for this innovative clean tech product platform. Dustin works closely with architects, engineers, contractors and building owners to develop new product platforms for the construction industries. Dustin also manages business relationships with various industry partners such as lighting, controls, electrical and HVAC manufacturers. Dustin also chairs the marketing committee for the EMerge Alliance, a California-based not-for-profit technology standards association focused on promoting DC power distribution and use in commercial buildings. Dustin worked previously as an electrical engineer and project manager for a consulting firm. Dustin has Bachelor’s Degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Pittsburgh and a Master’s Degree in Business from the Pennsylvania State University.

Greg Reed Board Member
University of Pittsburg

Dr. Reed is the Director of the Electric Power Initiative in the Swanson School of Engineering at the University of Pittsburgh, Director of the University’s Center for Energy, and Associate Professor of Electric Power Engineering in the Swanson School’s Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering. He is also the Director and Technical Lead of the Grid Technologies Collaborative for the U.S. Department of Energy's National Energy Technology Laboratory; and an inaugural member of the National Academies of Science and Engineering's Energy Ambassador Program.

Home | About | Standards | Products | Join | News & Events | Resources | Contact  | Privacy Policy | Terms Of Use | 
Copyright 2019 by EMerge Alliance  | 
Follow us: